My Angel, My Heart, My Dahlin’

I see you in your cowboy hat and boots

I see your easy smile

against your sunwashed skin

I hear your voice

a thousand times

in a single night

pouring into my heart

a thousand love songs

in a single melody

I hear your words of love

and they strum like viola notes

up and down my strings of pain

I look for you

with eyes that cannot see

I find you everywhere

with eyes that only see

I see you in your cowboy hat and boots

I see your easy smile

and I can’t help but smile back…

 

Written to my precious uncle, my Angel, my Heart, my Dahlin’, Alvin Doucette, Jr. laid to rest on this day.

I will see you again…and we’ll both be smiling…

Leave a Reply

