Cast Away

I am a castaway

drowning like a bubble never born

under a tepid tub of confusion

coming up for

air and answers

finding none

 

I will cast away

my worry

cast it all on you

you promised to take it

please just take it

 

I am a castaway

tossing like an atmospheric question

in a springtime lake of olid tears

still coming up for

air and answers

despite the underwater terrors

belted around my calves

coming up

and finding none

 

I will cast away

my fears

cast it all on you

you promised to take it

won’t you just take it

 

I am a castaway

losing like I’ve never known a win

wrecked by a man-made river

still coming up for

air and answers

forgetting

the murk that blinds me

the sludge that chokes me

the pointed rocks that split me

still coming up

and finding none

I’m still coming up

Leave a Reply

