Joseph and His Grace

You asked

and she answered

as you hoped she would

as you probably knew she would

You were a catch

she was a prize

unlike any other

and together you made beautiful sense

all your own

 

She was as fiery

as her favorite-colored pepper

you, ever cucumber cool

you were her rock

she was the ledge

you hung your hope on

and together you made beautiful colors

all your own

 

On your 75th year

you and I

we danced together

you whispered in my ear

beneath the music

“I miss her so much”

my eyes stung with

just enough understanding

I whispered back to you

beneath the music

“She’s here…she’s here”

and together you made beautiful steps

all your own

 

You breathed your last

surrounded by love

I held onto your arm

praying aloud over you

with a strength foreign to me

I told you to go to her

I said she was waiting

and you did

because together you make beautiful sense

never again to be alone

Leave a Reply

