I See You

I see you

straying stare

with

preposterously

puckered lips

I don’t like to look

because you show me

what you see

but I see you…

I see your confusion

 

I see you

pictures

of yesterday

never developed

demoing them

as though

they are today

I don’t like to look

because what you show

is a fallacy

but I see you…

I see your delusion

 

I see you

with your

snappy put-downs

your giving

everyone what-for…

what for?

I don’t like to look

because you show me

what you see

but I see you…

I see your illusion

 

I see you

pulling back

the curtain

to share

the man

of this hour

then the next

I don’t like to look

because what you show

is a tragedy

but I see you…

I see your inclusion

 

I see you all

running frantic

running scared

within the seams

of the places

you’ve been stitched

within the

fabric of fiction

you’ve stuffed

yourselves into

 

You rip yourself open

come unsewn

smear yourself

all over..

all over those

with

watchful

waiting

wishful

eyes

eyes of wolves

lapping you like

the metallic blood

of a fallen beast

pooled against

the dust

the dirt

of a

crowded

woodland

and they see the

you that you see

and it isn’t you…

isn’t you at all

but I see you.

Can you see me?

 

Leave a Reply

