For You

Took a mule-drawn

carriage ride

down a potholed street

with too many

raging signs

to heed even one

Facing a 6’4” brick wall

I was certain

I had missed the ball

all dressed up

with nowhere

but a grave to go

But the clock struck

that particular hour…

the hour that lived

between the tick tocks

wittingly waiting for

its moment to arrive…

My peasantry was

baptized in royalty

and the wall could no

longer hold itself firm…

Yes, I gave away my

Once Upon a Time

but my

Happily Ever After

is for you…

an ever after that knows no end…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

