I Wore a Scarlet V

Wild Heart Scribe

V for victim. I wore it like a hard-earned badge of honor. Hard-earned, yes – but there was no honor in it. However, it was the only thing I had done with consistency, the only thing I had ever excelled at, or so I thought in my abuse-riddled mind. So, I wore it everywhere I went but took special pleasure from it when I was alone. I could stand before my bathroom mirror and watch myself cry. I did that more often than I’d like to admit. I’ve always been somewhat dramatic. When I was 6 years old I wrote a letter to my parents and infant sister before leaving for a trip to Disney World with other family members. I wrote the letter in case I didn’t make it back and made sure to drop tears on the page for effect. Yes, I was born dramatic, but I wasn’t…

View original post 180 more words

Leave a Reply

