Wrong Impression?

I worry that my poetry could be giving the wrong impression in some instances.  I did not have a terrible childhood.  Could it have been better?  Sure!  Yours probably could have been better, too.  I did, however, have a terrible adulthood until I hit 40.  So, if you got that impression from my words and thoughts shared here – well, you are on the money with that one.  Truth is, I see so many who struggle with so much more than I ever have that I feel guilty when people call me strong or even acknowledge my pain.  I know that pain is individual and so is struggle and I am not discounting mine, but I also don’t want it to appear to be more than it was.  At least not the childhood part.  Much of my poetry is dark because many of my memories are, but I don’t live in a dark place.  I am not what has happened to me.  I am not who I once was out of circumstance and fear.  I am happy.  I am grateful.  I am a survivor.  I only share the darkness as a way to remember it, so that I am never so far out of it that I forget to be grateful for being delivered from it.  And delivered I was – in a very mighty way.  Maybe, I’ll tell you about it some time.

Much love,

Wild Heart Scribe

4 responses to “Wrong Impression?

  1. I think that one of the reasons I can relate to your words so well is that I had a similar experience. Although my struggles were different than yours, the struggles were none the less dark and the marks they left are permanent I am afraid. But they don’t define me, and they have provided me with the motivation to explore life and the depth to understand most people and their motives. Life is a game, that can only be played, it can’t be won and each of us have our own unique part to play. Without experiences that are painful, emotional, upsetting, there wouldn’t be wisdom, motivation and even love of those special things in life that we all tend to take for granted when the seas are calm. So for me, I always love your writing and enjoy the wisdom behind it. I know it is well earned. Keep up the great work!!

    • Thank you so much, Jon! Funny, but I know you “get me” and it is reassuring to be understood. Yes, life is a game that must be played. Is it arrogant of me to think somehow I can win? 🙂

  2. From one survivor to another. I am the opposite to you. Most people are stunned when they hear about my past. However we do both carry it with us where ever we go.

    • People were stunned about me, too. I kept it a secret from everyone for 10 months after my abuser was gone. That was a grand total of 21 years and about 8 months. You are right, we will carry it wherever we go. At least it didn’t bury us.

Leave a Reply

