You Don’t Live Here Anymore

Two states now lie between us

and you’re still looking under my lid

trying to see what’s cooking in my pot

smells good, doesn’t it

and looks better…

you wouldn’t even believe the taste

 

Don’t be mad because my house stands

Did you think you could take a sledgehammer

to your own and it wouldn’t fall…

ahh, the folly of fools…

you know

and

I know

you helped paint the walls of

the dungeon where I once lived

you helped to keep me chained me there

you know

and I

know

and I will never forget

 

Two states now lie between us

and you’re still holding on

trying to get a hint of my flavor

You’d take a bite if you could, wouldn’t you

You’d swallow without chewing

I know you would…

you wouldn’t even enjoy the taste

 

Don’t be mad because my house stands on the Rock

Did you think you wouldn’t find yourself

sitting in the rubble of your own,

alone…

ahh, the folly of fools…

you know

and

I know

too much about why your house fell

you know

and I

know

and I will never forget

 

Tend to your rubble

and stop peeking in

my window

You don’t live here anymore

3 responses to “You Don’t Live Here Anymore

Leave a Reply

