My Past Has a Heartbeat

My past has a heartbeat,

sometimes I think it’s so.

On nights like this,

I know it’s so.

It survives to taint my present

take my present

trap my present

beneath the heaviness

of its chiding chant,

its wretched rhapsody…

suffocating the present

until it is as

ashen and gray

as the past that won’t stay buried.

But I’ll keep digging ditches

and I’ll keep throwing you in.

My present and I…

we will heap mounds of dirt

upon you till we have finished your

beat for the final time.

One day you’ll stay buried,

won’t you?

One response to “My Past Has a Heartbeat

Leave a Reply

