The Depth

Once the truth
ripped through the lie
the first to ever
own my heart
advised me never
love in totality again…
but I never had…
a fear-frozen heart can’t love
and fear is all I had…
so my heart won’t heed,
wild hearts can’t listen…
they can only feel,
feel to a depth that is
foolhardy
not recommended
and oh so necessary…
I can’t breathe
above the depth,
would never surrender
to shallow safety.
The depth,
well, that’s the right place for me
the place where I am most me
and so I risk it all,
I love too hard,
and I’m betting the depth on you…
yes, I am betting the depth on you
because your voice is like
flight to me…
down in the depth

6 responses to “The Depth

Leave a Reply

