The Clouds Are Calling

Your name is heavy
take it back
5 little letters
a living, leeching affliction
My throat closes
around it
every time I have to say it
mercifully striving
to save my ears
from hearing it
My eyes clench
every time I have to see it
mercifully striving
to save my mind
from its eventual scald
It could be innocent on its own,
I suppose,
but we’ll never know
because its
attached to you,
so it
reeks
rankles
rages
of layered guilt
it taints
me and mine
so I’m giving it back to you…
we all are…
I will strip away your
borrowed name
and watch its
black swirl as the
mouth of recompense
sucks it into its belly
So, take back your
heavy 5-lettered name
I can’t float while
wearing it
and
the
clouds
are
calling
my
name

17 responses to “The Clouds Are Calling

Leave a Reply

