May I Tell You a Secret?

I want to share with you my secrets
see if they set your skull ablaze,
set you screaming like a cyclone siren,
send you spiraling into a stardust sky
looking for a safe space to save
your sanity

I want to test your mettle with
coffin splinters from my grave,
the untolds I planned to tuck with
me behind the mausoleum wall,
and see if your substance swoons
under the swelter of my skeletons

I want to tell you what
I can tell no other
because I want to trust you most
I want to tell you what
I only tell myself
because my audience of one
grows weary of my mysteries

I want to share with you my secrets
I want to test your mettle with my
grave-bound unspokens
If you run, you run and
I’ll cheer every step
Hell, I’ll meet you at the
checkpoints with chilly water

If you stay, you stay and
I’ll croon you a cadence of cradlesongs
while strumming a guitar I don’t
know how to play…
and I promise not to
tell you any more secrets.

8 responses to “May I Tell You a Secret?

  1. “I want to share with you my secrets
    I want to test your mettle with my
    grave-bound unspokens”

    grave-bound unspokens = world class

Leave a Reply

