I Found Truth at the Bottom of a Shower Stall

Lying on the floor of
the shower stall
lying across the open drain
hoping to drown a slow death
in the water rising over me
or the water rocketing out of me
does it matter which?

In the blast of water
you whisper to me truths
I pleaded for before I
stretched against the drain
truths I beg for
but don’t want
truths I know
and can’t see
truths that will massacre
but move me toward rescue

How can I thank you for
bearing the pain that I had
numbed myself to so many
moons and suns ago?
I don’t know…

But thank you, Lord,
for watching behind closed doors
thank you, Lord,
for answering thought prayers
that were afraid to spill onto my tongue
thank you, Lord,
for pulling me out
of the shower that day
and feeding me truth.

4 responses to “I Found Truth at the Bottom of a Shower Stall

Leave a Reply

