Not THAT Woman

I won’t be that woman
who chases like he
grips her last breath in
his tentative hand…
dropping her dignity across
a train track,
clamoring for attention,
begging for scraps.
Making do with less than
she wants because it’s
more than she had.
I’ll be the one
whose lean says
come to me
whose walk says
follow me
whose blithe smile says
you can’t do without me.
I won’t be that woman who
sells herself cheaply because
time taunts her…
stretching her dignity across a
four-lane highway,
scrambling for attention,
pleased with scraps.
I’m not that woman…
I don’t have to be…
and neither does she.

11 responses to “Not THAT Woman

  1. I don’t know why this post didn’t come into my email notification, powerful! thank you for reading my previous posts by the way 🙂 HUGS!

  2. I love this part: “I won’t be that woman who / sells herself cheaply because / time taunts her… / stretching her dignity across a / four-lane highway, / scrambling for attention, / pleased with scraps.” Beautifully written and said.

Leave a Reply

