Savage Stain

I wear a savage stain
that won’t be washed away
Guarded by my demure power
it turns potent my gentle touch
I use it to refresh you
to fill your desert spots
by its gripping nature
it makes me plain to you
plain as falling rain
though if I were a color
I’d be earthly green
my savage stain
colors green inside my lines
for I am unpolluted
I am unmarked
I am unsullied
by the iniquitous lashes of life
It makes sure I stay no other shade
though other colors come and go
Black and blue could not define me
Pink and red could not confine me
Yellow could not malign me
I am plain
and it is to our utter gain
because my savage stain…
is my faith in love.

7 responses to “Savage Stain

Leave a Reply

