The Hunt

Hunt me down
take it
before I lay myself
bare in an open field
and hand it to you.
If you are a hunter,
make me the hunted.
Track me…
I’ll dart through trees
and master the pretense of making it hard
since the hunt is what you need.
I’ll try to give you a challenge…
though I’d love to make it easy.
Stop me with your frantic spear,
fire a round into the darkening sky and
calm my motion to a halt.
A wild lioness am I,
a huntress in my own right.
For you, I have lullabied my
disposition to rest.
But I must become feral again
so you can be the hunter…
so you never know you
caught surrendered prey.

2 responses to “The Hunt

Leave a Reply

