Will You Love Me When

1358695121791
Will you love me when I stomp my foot and shout in frustration
when I embarrass you in public
when I call you the meanest mommy in the world

When, when, when…
Yes, my lovely girl, I will love you even then

Will you love me when I don’t want to hold your hand anymore
when my friends become more important than you
when I think I know more than you and tell you so

When, when, when…
Yes, my lovely girl, I will love you even then

Will you love me when I leave you to make my own way
When I don’t call today or even tomorrow
When I become a mother and forget to be your daughter

Yes, my lovely girl, I will love you even then for
before I saw your face, I saw your promise
before I knew your name, I knew your spirit
before I cradled you in my arms, I cradled you in my heart

For you are my precious child and
when my eyes have closed for the final time
when my last breath has slipped away
when death has ushered me from my earthly vessel

When, when, when…
Yes, dear one, I will love you even then…

8 responses to “Will You Love Me When

  1. Heart!!!!!
    Can someone with some kinda fabulous connections, please put you influence and affluence behind this young woman to get her body of work published, please?

Leave a Reply

