Toy Box

Hide me in the toy box.
Pull me out when you want to play.
I wait
and wonder
and weigh
if I’ll ever get a turn
to delight you again.
When I was fresh,
you took me everywhere,
didn’t want me out of your reach.
Now I sit
and sulk
in stagnant air
that stifles and sustains me.
Ooh… the lid bangs open
and I think
please,
please,
let it be me…
but you choose her instead.
I guess I would choose someone else, too.
I’m a little worse for wear.
I don’t flaunt that new smell anymore
and my curls have lost their sheen and bounce.
So, I guess I would choose someone else, too.
But I was gifted to you
and so I wait.
I fall closer to the bottom.
My hope lies beneath my tattered dress.
My left shoe beneath my hope.
Ahh… I wait for the lid to open.
Until then, I make my
home in a toy box
waiting for you to reach in
and make me come alive again.

6 responses to “Toy Box

Leave a Reply

