The Greatest Lover

Repost in celebration of Resurrection Sunday… Happy Easter!

He loves me purely
from afar and close up.
Loved me before
body and soul met.
And will love past
their parting.

He hears my whimpers and my whines
and partakes in my pain.
His thunder whisper quiets
my restive angst.

He stoops to pull me
from the morass
of my mistakes
or sits with me
in the midst of them.

He put his back against
a tree for love
and stretched open
His arms to all,
to all.

He made that which is
from nothing,
man from dust,
bestows new life
from spilled Blood.
I fail Him with
preposterous predictability
and His love
goes on and on and on…
Jesus, The Great Lover of my soul.

4 responses to “The Greatest Lover

  1. What a beautiful piece of poetry. I enjoyed it! Would it be presumptuous of me to say that I have someone in my life who has made me feel this way? Except of course for the last few lines 🙂 This was truly a wonderful ode to Him. Loved it!

    • I, too, have someone who has replaced all my pain with pleasure. Every love poem I write is inspired by him. It’s the first time in my life I have ever written love poetry. Earthly love is a blessing too! 🙂 Thank you for the compliments! Means a lot!

Leave a Reply

