Why I Cry

I don’t cry
because your dirty looks
once ran my white flag up a pole
I don’t cry
because your whispered threats
once iced my backbone solid
I don’t…

I don’t cry
because your zealous chase
of foreign tail
once jackhammered my confidence
into ground-up nothingness
I don’t cry
because the roles you once had
were laid to waste in the
fruitfulness of your contempt
I don’t…

Trek the tracks of my tears
to their start
up a snaking road back
to my indebted heart-
simply spillage from a
teeming spring of gratitude
are my tears-
as bad as it was
it never got as bad
as it could.
We were
saved
spared
set apart
Vengeance is mine, saith the Lord.
And it has begun…

2 responses to “Why I Cry

Leave a Reply

