Some Nights

You slip through the bars of your cell
some nights
to revive your reign of restriction.
You come suddenly to me
in the cover of night.
Monotonous in its pattern,
you press yourself into my sleep haze
until you feel my life.
Dread cuts and cools my daylight confidence.
I scramble to keep
my new life
my new love
hushed
protected
hallowed
from my nightmare walking
my habit recovered
my silence ended
honestly
profoundly
humbly.
Tears drench my purple pillowcase…
trembles shake me awake.
I lie in a puddle of confusion
whispering to myself in the near dark
that you are not here.
The nightmare that once commanded my days
now only calls at night…
some nights
when you slip through the bars of your cell.

3 responses to “Some Nights

Leave a Reply

