KNEW

I knew I might fall in love with you when you first kissed me
You walked over to me so deliberate and relaxed
My blood thundering in my ears when
I realized your intention
You gently pressed your lips against mine
As if you had always known them
And you kissed me the way I had always hoped
To be kissed
And it was like you knew it.

I knew I was going to fall in love with you the first time
You held me and let me soak
Your skin in my earnest, restless tears
Telling me that I did not have to be strong by myself anymore
That I could lean on you
As if you had always known I would
And you spoke the words I had always hoped
to hear
And it was like you knew it.

I knew I was in love with you when you shared your deepest with me
And I explored all I could so that I could know
How to help you
How to understand
How to not take it personally
It was then that I knew I loved you because
It became about you
And not me
As if I always knew it would
It was the feeling you had always hoped to feel
And I knew it.

5 responses to “KNEW

Leave a Reply

