BURN

Cloaked in lies you reek of her particular stench,
it makes my nose burn until I think I’ll sneeze.
I look at you
and see embers of her reflection
blaze across your eyes,
it makes my eyes burn until I think tears
will creep out from beneath my clenched eyelids.
Her moans slink across my fingertips
when my hand brushes against your hot skin
and I burn in the bowels of my stomach until I think
I might retch the bile rising up and into my throat.
With my head against your chest,
I hear your heart beating out her name.
I raise my head wondering
if you will deny hearing it, too.
I see your lips saying, “I love you”,
but I can’t hear the words
over the beating of your heart
or the burning of my own.

Leave a Reply

