Moving Day

Today is moving day.
My little house on Rage Road sits all alone
I imagine the shutters are blinking back tears
The volcano at the end of Rage Road is quiet
I look at the waters next door to my little house
Now restrained by an intact dam I built myself,
But not alone.
The next occupants will put their own holes in it
But I won’t be responsible for leaving mine behind
Rage Road is no place for me anymore
I climb aboard my empty moving truck
(there’s nothing here I need to take with me)
Turning away from Bitter Boulevard
I find myself on Peace Parkway.
I had expected hesitation to grip my heart,
Cut my blood flow
Or at least make me dizzy with doubt.
But it doesn’t.
My mind is at ease and certain
My steps are firm and sure.
Life dances before me,
Misery cowers behind me.

Leave a Reply

